Board of Directors

If you are interested in joining our board, please contact

Chair: Tracy St. Denis

Joined our board: April 2011

Tracy moved to Yellowknife 20 plus years ago and has been an active member of the community. Her various positions, with both the private and public sectors, have allowed her to travel extensively throughout the NWT. Tracy has been a donor to United Way NWT (previously United Way Yellowknife) for over 12 years. She is committed to assisting the non-profit sector and felt that she could add to this by not just being a donor but getting active on the board and then subsequently becoming Chair in winter 2012. Tracy believes that the United Way NWT has a great role to play in working with the business community and the non-profit sectors to help create relationships and connections that benefit our communities for years to come

Vice-Chair: Vacant

Secretary: Simon Whitehouse

Joined our board: June 2016

Treasurer: Katherine Macdonald

Joined our board: June 2013

Katherine came to Yellowknife from Halifax in 2005 seeking new experiences and adventure. Originally working with accounting firm McKay LLP (now Crowe McKay) and then with Tlicho Investmtent Corp, Katherine is now Manager of Financial Services with the City of Yellowknife. Katherine has been an active member in the community and has played an integral role in helping balance the books as the Treasurer for the Yellowknife Curling Club, acting as Finance Chair for the 2014 National Seniors Curling Championship, a massive undertaking that consumed countless hours before, during and in follow up to the two week event that thrust Yellowknife onto the national stage. Katherine joined the United Way NWT as volunteer treasurer in 2013 where she has implemented and maintained a high level of financial reporting with what is a complex, territorial wide charitable organisation. When not donating her time, Katherine can often be found camping, reading, snowshoeing or out hiking with her dog Boone.

Past Chair: David Connelly

Joined our board 2011

David Connelly CD, MBA, B. Comm (Dalhousie) is a long term Northern volunteer, a Member of the Board of Governor’s Scouts Canada, is a three term Chair of the NWT Social Services appeal Board, past Chair of St.John Ambulance NWT-Nunavut and founder of the Arctic Delegation of The Order of St. Lazarus whose focus is supporting palliative care givers. He is a Northern business leader with interests in the mineral, technology, hotel and real-estate sectors. He co-authored a book on land claim implementation and consults to Aboriginal and southern business on implementing joint business opportunities and sustainable development. David received the Diamond Jubilee for leadership restoring charitable organizations to health; and the Golden Jubilee for contributions to Aboriginal economic development.

Yanik D’aigle

Joined our board May 2020

Paul Gillard

Joined our board: March 2014

Paul is a long time northerner having spent the last 13 years in Yellowknife working for Northwestel. His career path has included stops in a broad range on functions. These include Customer Service, Finance, Marketing, Sales, Partnerships & Acquisitions, Project Management, Field Operations, Outside Plant Construction and Government Relations.

Paul is an active participant in the community. He sits on the Board of the local United Way, the Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce and is an organizer for youth sports in the Northwest Territories.

Matthew Spence

Joined our board: June 2014

Matthew Spence moved to Yellowknife in 1964 with his family. After graduating from Sir John Franklin he pursued a university education and spent time in both Iqaluit and Fort Simpson. He eventually made his way back to Yellowknife in 2002 where he started his career with the Government of Canada. As Director General of the Northern Projects Management Office Matthew travels extensively throughout the North and has seen the challenges small communities face in providing services to its citizens. Matthew has been a donor to the United Way NWT for the last five years and has been the regional champion for the Government of Canada’s Workplace Charitable Campaign for the last two years.

Denny Rodgers

Joined our board: June 2016

Martin Goldney

Joined our board: December 2019

Martin Goldney was appointed Secretary to Cabinet/Deputy Minister of Executive and Indigenous Affairs November 7, 2019. Prior to this, Martin held portfolios as Deputy Minister with Justice and Aboriginal Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations
for the Government of the Northwest Territories. He has also served in the Government of the Northwest Territories as Executive Director and Chief Negotiator responsible for leading the negotiation of the Northwest Territories Lands andResources Devolution Agreement.

Mr. Goldney began his public service career as legal counsel for the GNWT, where his work included providing legal support and advice on a number self-government and land claim negotiations, and other constitutional matters. Mr. Goldney attended
Trent University where he received a Bachelor of Arts Honours degree in Native Studies, and the University of Alberta’s Faculty of Law where he earned a Bachelor of Laws degree.

Ben Linaker

Joined our board: September 2018

Ben is originally from the NWT, having been born and raised in Fort Smith. After a hiatus to attend university and travel some of the world, Ben returned to the territory and has made Yellowknife his home since 2013. Ben is an active member of the Yellowknife community, being involved in several sports teams and boards throughout the years. He holds community and local philanthropy among his core values and joined the United Way NWT Board of Directors to be involved in the excellent work and valuable charitable service that the organization provides to the non-profits of the NWT.

David Bob

Joined our board: June 2018

Meghan Kennedy

Joined our board: February 2019

Having relocated to Yellowknife in 2018 with her husband and two young children, Meghan is excited to join to United Way NWT Board of Directors. Currently a Branch Manager with TD Bank Meghan found an unequivocal passion for providing exceptional customer service, assisting clients to achieve financial success and coaching a team to achieve their goals. In 2016, Meghan completed an MBA with Royal Roads University. In addition to her career, Meghan is an avid volunteer, enjoying much community-involvement including RiversWest District for Sport, Culture and Recreation, Battlefords Chamber of Commerce and TD Pride, among others. Meghan has also travelled to Thailand and Tanzania to volunteer. In her free time, Meghan can be found training for half marathons or sharing the beautiful outdoors with her family, in summer and winter!